We’re coming back…

So, I’ve been having fun on my other blog… creating days like Chocolate Milk Tuesday and Pink Floyd Wednesday, but I still want to talk about writing… I have to because I’m a writer.

And over there, things get a little crazy… mixed in, mixed up, etc., so I figured why not jump back here and talk about books and writing.

Let’s start with a great post I read today by Tonya Kappes… she’s now a “hybrid author” which means she uses elements of both traditional and indie publishing.  Last year there was a huge battle between indie and trad publishing.  I’m sure that battle is still raging on right now BUT publishers are seeing the potential in having someone build the basic steps beforehand.  I think it’s great.

Some people will always be indie and some will always be trad… and that’s okay.  The balance works, and frankly, who cares?  I don’t view any more or less if you go for an agent or work at it yourself… OR if you work at it yourself, then sign with an agent.

Look at what Amanda Hocking did… look at the John Locke did… but then again, look at Joe Konrath.  I’m sure he could have a big ‘ol deal right now, but he sticks with Amazon.  All three of those writers took their own paths, make them successful, and I commend them.

As you for, or me, we need to keep at what we’re doing and honestly, I think we all need to keep our eyes open.  Let all the roads open and instead of walking past them or around them, let’s walk along side them.  Why?  Because you never know when one of those open roads is going to serve you better, or best.

Read Tonya’s post here:

http://tonyakappes.blogspot.com/2012/03/yes-im-hybrid.html

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Amazon, Booksellers, Business, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re coming back…

  1. Hey, Jim,

    I couldn’t agree more … we evolve in life, so why now with our writing. Follow a road with it’s many twists and turns and veer off onto other paths when it suites you better.

Leave a Reply

