In the wake

We all know last week was wild.  The announcement of KDP Select doesn’t give us a right or wrong answer, and why should it?

I fully believe that too many people rely on Amazon, thinking of them as a partner versus a  distributor.  Now, comparing Amazon to B&N may be like comparing Wal-Mart to CVS… which I understand.  But no matter what comes next, for me or for you, it’s our choice.

Amazon put an option on the table.  There’s no right or wrong choice here – it’s all yours to make and follow, or not.

There has been talk that Amazon will take care of Select authors better or even that Amazon is testing the waters for something bigger in the future.

I say, fine and fine.

If Amazon treats the Select authors better, so be it.  They did offer Amazon exclusivity.  If Amazon has plans for the future to “force” authors into the program, then fine.  Let them.  I still have to day to sell books.

Why am I cool and calm?

Because I have other vendors!  I love them, I support them, and the customers there love me.  I’ve noticed a big uptick in sales on sites like Barnes & Noble and Smashwords in the past week.  Maybe it’s a coincidence, maybe not, but either way, I feel safe with my decision to not opt into Select.

I’m not doing anything fancy to sell books on these sites… just making sure my links put people there.  There are millions of people with Nooks… right?  And anyone who has Twitter has a computer with an internet connection.  That means they can download .PDF copies…

I’ve also organized my site and books to have all the vendors right there, ready to go.  So I can post a link on Twitter calling out #kindle AND #nook in the same Tweet, and send the person to my site where they can choose.

Again, this is my process, and right now, it works.  That could change tomorrow.

Being in this business is tough because we have to plan for the future but what we cannot do is get lost in it.  We don’t know what will happen.

It’s like being a pizza shop owner and wondering when the world’s supply of tomatoes are going to run out.  Then you have a rough summer where food prices went up 20% and now you’re planning on the end of the tomato forever…

Okay, my examples suck.  I know.

But that’s how I look at it.  I keep it in the back of my mind that this can all go away.  But I can’t harp on it.  I can’t worry about it 24/7.  I have to focus on getting my books out to the people who continue to buy them each and every day.  They are the people I care about most… and if Amazon shut its doors to me, I’d thank them for their time and hope my readers would come with me over to the other vendors.   Will Amazon keep changing?  Yeah, it’s what they do.  I try to find the silver lining… and in this case, Amazon has said that $6m is put away for the Select program for 2012.  That tells me I still have KDP for at least a year.  That could change in a moment, but I hold onto it for now.

So, through the hundreds of pages of posts and opinions… the new data, the rushed data, the panics, the praise, and the hate… through the sites, boards, and networks… let’s all remember one thing:  It’s a choice.  Keep at that, keep it at your choice, and now go back to where you and I belong – at the keyboard writing the next book!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Amazon, Booksellers, Business, Jim b, PubIt!, Selling Books, Smashwords, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

