Interview w/ author William Esmont

Today, I had the chance to talk to William Esmont, who just crossed the amazing sales mark of 20,000 ebooks… I’m sure that’s just the start of his future…

Tell us about your journey, when did you decide to indie publish?

I decided to publish my second book, Self Arrest, on Kindle in December of 2009. I was reluctant at first, so much so that I actually pulled it from the Kindle store after only a few weeks and decided to shop it around through traditional channels. Several months passed with no response, but in the meantime, I educated myself on internet marketing and the mechanics of eBook sales. In late spring of 2010, I decided to give it another try. Sales were anemic, but I was well into my next book, and I was content with learning from my experience regardless of how it turned out. When it came time to sell The Patriot Paradox, I considered sending it out to agents and publishers, but in the end, I decided I could do a better job of selling it myself. In hindsight, it was a great decision. The Patriot Paradox has sold around sixteen thousand copies to date and the sequel is on track for release in the 2011 holiday season.

What was your biggest break to date, in terms of generating and growing sales?

The Patriot Paradox languished for almost three months after it’s October 2010 release, selling only a few copies each week, until it inexplicably took off in February of 2011. What caused the sudden spike? I wish I knew. If I did, I would do the same thing for my other titles. My best guess is a combination of positive reviews from book bloggers, word of mouth, and a healthy dose of good luck.

What would you tell someone who is just starting out?

Write a story you’d like to read and be patient.

What’s coming next in 2012?

2012 is going to be a huge year! First up is the third story in my zombie apocalypse series, titled Earth: Elements of the Undead. This book will pick up where Fire: Elements of the Undead left off, and we’ll get to find out what happens to Jack and Megan a few years down the road. After that, I’m planning to release the third book in my best-selling Reluctant Hero series of espionage thrillers. I’ve also got a few short story ideas screaming for attention.

William Esmont!!!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Amazon, Authors, B&N, Business, Interviews, Jim b, PubIt!, Selling Books, Smashwords and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

