eBook sales rise, duh. Paperback… not sure

I love paper.  I love paperback books.  I hold them.  I cuddle them.  I smell their pages… don’t lie, you do too.

But the ebook format has swept in and is not going away.  With it comes a new rush of publishing, opportunity, and of course, big changes that scare some.

A year ago, things were quit, but boiling.  They exploded and many were lucky enough to experience HUGE growth.  The growth came to a shocking end as things changed again.  For those who have noticed that I have been quiet, I have been on purpose.  The cloud of negativity is getting thick, and sometimes it’s hard to see.  Top that with a shit load of spam on Twitter and Facebook, I’ve often considered cutting the cord on social media.  But I can’t do that… I love social networking.  I love blogging.  And I owe it to all you who read this to keep talking.

Some of my favorite boards have become clutter messes of how the end is coming, why free is our only chance, and just a big pool of fights and bickering over nothing.

My opinion?  Don’t making shit free, for one.  The free ebook market is disgusting… it’s big, it’s filled with a lot of crap, and people boast their free ebook sales as though it’s something to be proud of.  Sure, getting thousands of downloads is cool, but does it really help?  Those with a series may find it works.  Those with a LONG list of book may find it works.  But those with one book who didn’t experience the “Amanda Hocking effect” after a week of being published putting their books free need to take a breath and write some more damn books. 

Ebooks are soaring, as shown by every report out there.  Paperback is dying, but it’s not dead.  Don’t lose out on your paperback readers.  I had let paperback go to the back of my mind when a fan wrote me the other day to tell me they ordered a paperback copy of The Devil’s Weekend to read on Halloween because they loved paperback.  I smiled, nodded, and thanked them.  More power to the readers, I say.  Give them the choices and let them choose.

 

As long as they are reading, that’s all that matters.  I hope people will emerge from the pool of FREE and come back to reality that this is a business and we all need to survive.  Maybe some of those “lost sales” many experience are in that free pool, I don’t know.  But what I do know is that we need to write, edit, and publish.  Because another wave will come and it’s best to be ready to ride it. 

 

On a side note, we’ve experience our BEST month ever for October.  We’ve sold 10 times the books this month than our previous busiest month.  Why?  How?  What’s the secret?  We wrote, we published, and we sold on multiple platforms.  Amazon is still king, yes, but there are so many other amazing venues to sell on.  So many readers to meet, authors to meet, and so many things to take advantage of. 

 

Don’t lose your focus in the fog right now.  Stand your ground, write your books, publish them, and be proud.  Think with a business mind and always prepare for tomorrow.  And if you’re tempted to hit that stupid “free” button, slap yourself.  Value your work, value yourself, and write another damn book!

 

Oh, yeah, Happy Halloween!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Amazon, B&N, Booksellers, Business, Financial analysis, Jim b, Milestones, PubIt!, Selling Books, Smashwords, Social Networking, Twitter, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to eBook sales rise, duh. Paperback… not sure

  1. Can’t help wishing I’d written this, Jim. I put one of my books out free and shifted over 300 copies.Then I put a price on it and … zip. I don’t think anything one of those freebie “readers” read it. But I learned my lesson. The only freebies I give away are extracts and shorts on my site.

    Great post.

    • Jim Bronyaur says:

      Thanks David. The tough part with free is that “sold” means downloaded, not a real transaction. And how many people download because it’s free versus how many people actually read it? Now sure maybe people will get to it someday and come back for more, but that’s a gamble. Who knows. I do think FREE can work in some circumstances, but in the entire ebook world, free is a killer. Indie movie people charge $20 for their DVD’s, just like Hollywood. Same goes for artists… they charge too.
      This is art, and it’s business.
      It’s hard to sell books no matter what. The key is to keep on writing and keep on publishing.

      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

