A great way to start the week.

When I type right here, right now, on this blog, I’m staring at a screen.  It’s hard to imagine any of you out there reading this… but I know you do because the stats tell me, as do the subscriptions.

It fills me with warmth to know that my words in this word do count.  And I thank you for it.

As a writer, though, meaning my horror novels, the toughest thing is sending your book out there in the world and not knowing what could come back to you.  Some people don’t like to review books, which is fine.  Some reviewers are backlogged for months… generally about six months. 

And when reviews come in to Amazon, they are fun, but usually general. 

So when I was looking through a group I’m a member of on Amazon, I couldn’t believe what I saw.  First off, this group is NOT an authors group.  It’s a group of people who enjoy zombies and horror stuff.  Most of the people there aren’t writers at all. 

A person in that group, someone I don’t know, left this comment as their status:

I read “The Devils Weekend” by Jim Bronyaur. This has been one of the scariest books that I have read lately. Don’t mess with the devil or so I have heard. With a name like Oliver Ignis, you know you are born to be bad. Great Book, Jim.

So, to any writer out there who is new, or to anyone thinking about writing with dollar signs in their eyes… read that comment again.  That’s why we write.  And it’s worth more than money (in my eyes).  That’s a complete stranger who bought my book for whatever reason and read it, enjoyed it, and shared it with the world. 

Again, that above is why I write.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Milestones, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A great way to start the week.

  1. Rachel says:

    Red sent me. RedTash.com

  2. Red Tash says:

    Yes, the feedback is our high!

  3. Reflections says:

    Yes, the reader response is the most powerful thing there is. The dollars or cents are only the little perks that go along with the business. Just read your guest post over at Karen’s place. Thanks again for the powerful insights.

  4. Arlee Bird says:

    That is very cool. It’s nice if people buy your books and even better when they actually read them and like them and tell the world about it. A bit of praise can make one’s day and more.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  5. That’s terrific 🙂 What a great boost to a writing week.

    I’ll admit something to you. I had to stop reading your book because it creeped me out so much. I’m not sure if you’ll be glad about that or not, but if you know anyone who isn’t sure if it’ll be scary enough, send them my way. I’ll set them straight.

Leave a Reply

