Mel Comley and Cruel Justice

I’m so happy to have Mel on my blog today.  Not only is she killer awesome at writing killer thrillers, she’s also one of the nicest, more sincere people I’ve met on my journey so far.

She’s just released the third book featuring Lorne Simpkins.  Check out my interview with Mel about Cruel Justice…


Lorne is back! I’m excited. Tell everyone, where did Lorne come from? How did you create such a strong character?

Really? Lorne is me really. I had a huge desire to be a cop in the UK, but was scared to sign up and go through a medical! So, when I retired (I was very young 38!) I had always wanted to write and set out to emulate Lynda La Plante’s character Jane Tennison. I’m glad to say that most reviewers think I’ve pulled it off!

Take us through your writing process – are you a morning writer? Evening writer? All the time writer?

It varies really, Jim, when I first started writing I used to tap away at the computer in the early hours of the morning. Now, because I have to spend so much time promoting, I tend to write mostly in the morning and afternoon. During the editing process though I stick at it 12-14 hours a day, promotion takes a backseat then.

How long did it take to write the book?

The latest book took me over a year to write, that was about 8-9 years ago. I dug it out of the draw this year and it took another two months to polish and tinker with it. Two great writers Tania and Cait helped me knock it into shape, before my editor Harry got hold of it. He had the easy job though.

Did you know you’d end up writing a series when you started the first book?

I had no idea, but I love Lorne’s character so much the series just evolved.

So… can you dish details… like this part where is says “help arrives from an unlikely source”?

Well that’s when… hey do you think I’m silly? All I can say is this book is more a psychological thriller than the others in the series. Actually all three books are very different, keeps my readers on their toes.

So, you’ve just penned the last word to the series. What’s next for you?

I’m planning to write some short stories, topical stories involving Lorne Simpkins. The first one will be about the plight of Greyhounds in the UK. I have a friend who works for the RSPCA and she tells me dreadful stories about how these animals are abused and even killed after their racing career is over, I’d like to highlight that and give it the attention it deserves.

What’s next for Lorne? Is another book coming?

As above, then in the New Year I’m going to start on book four. Lorne will get a new female partner in that one I think, haven’t yet decided. Watch this space as they say.

For my author readers out there, what was your biggest break to date in publishing?

After selling 30,000 ebooks in 8 months I had top agents trying to sign me up. After much deliberation I finally agreed to sign a contract with top New York agent Richard Curtis. I’m looking forward to working with him.

What advice would you give for any new writer looking to get published?

You have to follow your dreams, but don’t think you can do it alone. Even if you publish an ebook you should still employ a good editor to go through your MS. Make your book the best it can be before unleashing it unto the world.  

Okay, take us into 2012… what’s planned?

I have another romance/mystery lined up and onto the next book in the Lorne Simpkins series.

I know you’ve got some romance published now too… how could such a sweetheart like you write something so thriller like your Lorne series?

You’re such a sweetie, Jim. To be honest the murders in my books come easy to me, I suppose it helps having a vile ex-husband who you’d like to practice different methods of murder on several times over! LOL

Thanks Jim it’s been a blast.

Get your copy today!!!!!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mel Comley and Cruel Justice

  1. Mel Comley says:

    Thanks Jim, that was sweet of you. Hey, it works both ways. xx

  2. L.C. Evans says:

    I love strong women characters. Keep those Lorne books coming.

Leave a Reply

