My broken watch.

Two years ago I bought this watch off Ebay.

It was like $10.

I wore it once, and it died a week later.

I was in this cool writing image thing… I wanted to wear a lot of necklaces and watches and bandanas on my wrist.  Like Johnny Depp.  Well, I’m not Johnny Depp.  No where near. 

But the watch broke.

I didn’t toss it.  I kept it.  I hooked it to a light.  I posted that it reminded me that someday time will stop.  For me at least.  I hope the world continues for my children though.

But it reminds me of that… that hey, time’s going to end.  It could be today, tomorrow, or maybe I’ll get my wish and see triple digits. 

I saw the watch again today and looked at for a few seconds.  Thinking about all the changes in life, publishing, business.  New ebook vendors.  Amazon and their new tablet.  New Kindles.  Sales and down.  Big publishers are fighting horribly to gain back their sales.  Stephen King selling his new book for $2.99.  Oh my, it’s horrible.  Eh, yeah, but I’ve blogged about this before…

So Jim, what’s the point?

My point is this… it’s rough out there, any day, but you have to find the good in it.  Your words.  Your books.  Your dreams.  Your fight.  Your passion.  Never give it up.

Because, even though my watch is broken… it’s still right two times a day.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My broken watch.

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    I like your idea of a writing image. Did you have a specific writer in mind when choosing your image? I ask because one of my favorite writers/poets is Charles Bukowski, and my trying to emulate his look would be a bad thing.

    I also like the idea of time. My son’s girlfriend was killed in a car accident 18 months ago, and her death at such a young age was the driving force behind finishing my novel.

Leave a Reply

