A story about a spider, and, oh yeah, I got fired yesterday.

Outside the basement, I had two plants hanging.  They died over the summer and I took them down.  A spider made a hell of a web on one of them.  It made a neat hole in the web down into the dirt. 

A month ago we decided to replant some stuff – our last planting before autumn.  I needed one of the pots from outside.  I grabbed the one with the spider web.  I destroyed it.  I dumped the dirt out, clean the pot, fought off the dozen or so banana spiders. 

But I left the other pot there.

Today, I walked outside to get some

firewood.  I had stupidly left all the wood outside and since we’ve had a foot of rain this past month, I realized I should bring some in so when have our first cold nights, I could build a fire.

I noticed something.

The second pot on the ground.  It had a web on it now.  I looked and it was damn near the same web and setup from the other pot.  I can’t be sure if it was the same spider, but it struck me. 

It showed me something.

Proved something.

You can’t give up.

If someone comes along and knocks you down, you do have to get back up.  You have to brush yourself off and go. 

Nature told that spider it needed to find a new place to call home.  And if I moved the pot and ruined the web, the spider would find another home.  Because that’s how it survives.

I also come with some sad news.  Yesterday, I was let go from my day job.  Before anyone posts about being sorry, no need.  I welcomed it, and not in a bitter way.  I won’t get into my opinions here, but the US economy is still bad.  It’s weak, top heavy, if you will.  And sadly, small companies (like then one I worked for) have become the middle class for business… meaning they are left out to dry. 

I knew the position the company had to take with me because I was the guy reporting the numbers.  I saw them every day.  Hell, I was paid to report the numbers.  So it came as no shock when the decision came down for me to go. 

My web, in a sense, has been messed up.

Will I crawl away and die?

No.

I’ll make a new web.  I’ll survive.

The bad… is obvious.  No job, no paycheck.

However, no job means more time. 

So, for those out there who thought I had a full plate before, heh, you haven’t seen unemployed Jim yet. 

Be ready, because the web I’m going to weave now is going to be to huge.  And sturdy.

Oh, and if I’m staying in this metaphorical spider thing… I’m weaving a few webs.  Just in case one gets ruined.

Because nature tells me to survive, but my brain tells me how to survive.

🙂

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Selling Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A story about a spider, and, oh yeah, I got fired yesterday.

  1. Jim – I’m sure this is kind of a welcome change for you, but still I have to say “i’m sorry” because any kind of upheaval is difficult, especially with a family to care for. But you are just like that spider (only, of course, a much better writer 😉 and you’ll do just fine.

  2. If a spider can inspire Robert the Bruce to victory, why not you, Jim? Good luck with the new direction.

  3. Been there, done that, got the tee shirt.
    Went to another company I heard about through the grapevine; interviewed for three hours and landed the job. That was 2008 and a year later I was laid off for four months—wrote a novel that’ll likely never see the light of day. It’s that good (I was distracted).
    That was right at the beginning of Fridayflash and I had to tell Jon I was busy but I’d get a round tuit—whatever a round tuit is. Probably a bit like that tee shirt, we say these things but they don’t really exist. Or maybe they do where things get thinner and one can see through to the other side.
    Just be careful of the other side because, well, I still don’t know what’s in them holes. Something made those holes, they didn’t just happen. And whatever made them has to be about the size of a dog. I’ve never stepped in/crossed over/whatever—go ahead, call me chicken—so I don’t know, don’t want that tee shirt. There’s small bones in the scrabble at the mouth of those holes and they don’t spell out WELCOME. Knowaddamean?
    It’s kind of like those spider webs. Bet if you look down into the depths of one it just keeps going; a wormhole to another where, maybe even another when. And like Alice, you have to eat a cake to get down to it.
    Yeah, that’s it. Get down to it…

  4. Good luck! I’ll be watching for your stories.

    All of them ;p

  5. Becca says:

    Jim, I wish you all the best with the course your life has taken. I’m a solid believer that EVERYTHING happens for a reason — we may not understand it at the time, but when we look back after years have passed, things become clearer.

    Enjoy this time as you have the freedom to form/reform what your life has in store for you. 🙂

  6. Wonderful attitude, Jim, I’m relieved to hear it, even if it comes about from such a negative situation. Here’s to the future. *clink*

Leave a Reply

