CJ Archer breaks 1,000 sales in a single month!

I know last month I had some heavy hitters on my blog selling 40,000 ebooks and 60,000 ebooks… but what about those who are just breaking the small milestones?

I’ve been hitting small marks myself, which is a great feeling, I was able to talk with CJ Archer, who just reached an amazing milestone… selling 1,000 ebooks in a single month.

I’m not saying a 1,000 books total… I’m saying 1,000 book in a single month. That’s an awesome thing to accomplish, so I had to know how it happened…


What made you choose indie?

I decided I had nothing to lose.  I had several novels sitting on my hard drive.  My agent couldn’t sell them but she’d gotten close with the Big 6 publishers.  I thought they were pretty good and didn’t want them gathering virtual dust forever.  I figured if I could make $10 off them it was $10 more than they’d earned me so far.  So I started putting them up on Amazon and Smashwords one by one.

What was you biggest “break” to date?

Putting A Secret Life up for free.  It’s been downloaded over 34,000 times in 3 weeks.  At least some of those people must be reading, liking it and buying the sequel because A Secret Desire made it to an Amazon rank of #793 last week.  It has slid a little now but hovers around the #1,000 rank and has sold nearly 1,400 copies.

How many books did you have written before you started publishing?

Good question!  You just made me count them all and I’m blown away to discover I’ve completed 22 full-length novels and 2 novellas.  Only the last six are good enough to be released, the rest should be sent to the Trash folder but I just can’t bring myself to press the Delete key.  I’m now writing brand new content to be released next year.

What advice would you give someone who is just starting out?

Learn the craft.  Get honest, good feedback.  Listen to it, act on it and keep writing.

What’s your plans for 2012?

I’ll be releasing the first book in a YA historical paranormal romance trilogy before the end of this year, so I need to write the next two books for that, then I have plans for 2 or 3 historical romance novellas.  2012 is looking busy, but exciting.

http://www.amazon.com/C.J.-Archer/e/B004LLEHN0/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1 <— all of CJ’s books!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Authors, Interviews, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

