Fear and Luck, with a Conversation to go.

This has been an interesting weekend for myself.

I realize my blog sat lonely, unloved.  Sorry about that.

I finished up a new horror story written under my pen name, Jack Roth.  It’s for the upcoming Hundred to Home anthology, This House.  As of now, the anthology will be myself, Jack Roth, Monica Marier, and Angie Capozello.  For those who don’t know, the H2H antho’s aren’t filled with 20-30 flash stories.  I focus on LONGER stories, and less of them.  Part of this is because I want heavy anthologies, and another part is that H2H pays royalties on all projects to all writers.

The story was fun to write, a step aside from business and thinking for a few days.  Jack Roth is my gore outlet.  He’s a much darker side of myself.  And he proves it in the story… the basic of the story?  The house is a serial killer.

During this writing, I decided to pull out an old Jack Roth story, edit it, and publish it for October 31.  That’ll be the official launch of Jack Roth.

Aside from this, there were two great blog posts, plus a conversation I had that really helped me.  I’ve been in a personal slump the past couple weeks.  Right after my August sales DIED off, I felt a huge weight on myself.  Trying to figure out if I was doing anything wrong.  Desperate to squeeze out a project.  But I held my ground and luckily didn’t do anything stupid.  *whew*

JA Konrath posted the other day on his publishing success.  There’s an underlying theme in his answers to publishing… *luck* – http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/2011/09/how-to-succeed.html

Yes, you need a good story, a good cover, a good description, and a good plan.  Yes, yes, yes.  But in the background, luck plays a part.  And to be honest, everytime I talk to someone and ask them their big secret… it’s usually something related to luck.

SO, keep writing until you get lucky. 

Another post came from Bob Mayer.  He talked about fear – http://writeitforward.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/fear-is-the-downfall-of-publishing/

Fear is a horrible thing that embeds itself inside of us, crushing us.  And I think that’s what took me down the past couple weeks.  Fear.  Fear that my book sales were zero and were going to stay zero.  Fear that it would never happen for me.  Fear that I’d never finished another project. 

The thing about fear is that it usually starts with something big and the multiplies itself out, grabbing onto every little thing in your life.  “Oh man, I’m afraid that dinner’ll be burnt tonight.  Oh no, what if I get a flat tire on the ride from work?”

Next thing you know, everything is negative – and scary.

You face fear by facing it.  By remembering your plan, and telling yourself it’s a plan.  It’s a long term thing you have to stay with.  There will be bumps in the road, roadblocks that cause you to change course, but the outcome remains the same. 

This was all topped off with an hour long conversation with one of the biggest indie thriller writers out there.  I won’t list the name out of respect to the author.  We talked about EVERYTHING.  From that authors journey up until now.  And I realized something – we’re all in this together.  We all share the same worry, we all fight the same fear, and we all wait for that one chance, that one stroke of luck to come along.

I’ll be okay, and so will you.

Things will keep changing.

People will sign big 6 deals.

People will self publish.

People will sign hybrid deals like Locke, etc.

This is the time… and driving home today from getting pizza, the one garden shop already has pumpkins out.  Usually I curse about that, but this year, I say bring it.  Bring me fall.  Bring me Turkey-day.  And bring me Christmas.

I have books to sell!

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Authors, Business, Jim b, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fear and Luck, with a Conversation to go.

  1. Bob Mayer says:

    Appreciate the mention– perhaps luck is continuing onward through the fear?

    • Jim Bronyaur says:

      Makes sense! Thanks for commenting Bob.

      Once you beat that fear, you have your heart, passion, and usually luck tends to follow.

Leave a Reply

