Ebooks, evolve.

So a while back I read some posts about the future of ebooks.  How they will become interactive, how they will evolve, etc.

While some of the ideas I like and some I don’t, it made me wonder what can we do as independent authors to stay competitive if and when those changes do occur.

I personally can’t wait for the technology so I could put my book trailers at the start of an ebook.  And to include other writers trailers, etc.  – it will be a chance to really network. 

Then a couple weeks ago I was having a great conversation online and came up with an idea… bonus content.

Think about it for a second.  DVD’s have it.  And as writers, we have so much background stuff that goes into our books.  Why not share some of it?

I registered a seperate site called www.h2hbonus.info and installed WordPress on it.  I made a static page and disabled the RSS feed (with the hopes that people can’t access the pages w/out the proper links… but not that it really matters).

I’m starting slow… usually my next release, my horror novella, No Laughing Matter as the trial.  I’m going to include some notes I had on the story, the idea of Bee-Bo the clown, and even videos of me recording the music that would become the trailer.

I’m going to include a QR code and a hidden link within the book the book so those who buy the ebook will be able to access the extras.

It’s not much right now, but I plan on expanding it for future projects.  Perhaps bonus chapters, interviews, etc.  I think in hindsight now, and wow it would have been cool to have an interview with The Devil as bonus content for The Devil’s Weekend!

But my plan is to watch the changes and embrace all of them.  See where this thing of publishing is going to stay with you.  You should too.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Business, Jim b, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

