The basics – writing

Sometimes it’s easy to get lost.

Lost in a story.  Lost in the point of your writing.  Lost in the business side of it.  Lost in the writing of a query letter.  Lost in waiting for an agent.  Waiting for a publisher.  Waiting for a sale to come in.

It’s easy to get so lost that your sight is gone.  You can’t find the words, the story, nothing.  It’s like standing in a dark field on a cool night.  And then the crickets stop.  Pardon the cliche, but like a dead silence.

I’ve hit a wall or two the past week, struggling to really iron out the rest of 2011.  I’m trying to use the business side of Jim and plan, but I’m also making the artistic side has the time to work on projects.  I want a large bookshelf to offer you all, but I won’t force things out. 

Finally I said a few curse words and I went back to the basics.  Writing.  I got a pencil and a notebook.  Writing.  I took ideas for stories, character names, plots, arcs, tried to find the climax in a horror story my wife suggested. 

It felt great.  And it gave me the light I needed to get going again.

Sometimes you really do need to step away from it all.  And it’s okay to do so. 

Although… stepping away, the state of Pennsylvania had an earthquake and is now preparing for a hurricane.  *Did I do that?*  🙂

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The basics – writing

  1. Hey, if nothing else a nice hurricane-related power outage will give you lots of uninterrupted time to write. 😉 You do have candles and notebooks handy, right?

Leave a Reply

