Smashwords vs PubIt! – what one to use?

Posted from my old blog – I recently ran into two situations involving Smashwords and PubIt!.  First and foremost, both these were solved by the awesome members of Kindleboards.

  • -Why publish on PubIt! when you could just have Smashwords take care of all the distribution?
  • -If I publish with both Smashwords and PubIt! my book shows up twice on Barnes & Noble.  And I can’t take the .epub file off of Smashwords because I need it for other vendors.  What do I do?

 

Why publish on PubIt! when you could just have Smashwords take care of all the distribution?

This one may be easier to answer than you would think.  Two reasons – TIME and MONEY.  While Smashwords is probably the best vendor on the net for distribution, if you can go straight to the source, then go.  If you sell your books via Smashwords, who then distributes to B&N (Barnes & Noble), there is a time difference in payment between the two vendors.  Through Smashwords, they pay every 60 days.  Through B&N via PubIt! you get paid once a month.  There’s your time factor… and hey, let’s face it, as writers, time tied in with money is a BIG deal.

And now for money… Smashwords takes a cut of your royalties from B&N if they are the distributor.  And hey, that’s only fair since they are doing the leg work for you.  I believe it’s around 20% or so from the B&N royalty payment. 

If I publish with both Smashwords and PubIt! my book shows up twice on Barnes & Noble.  And I can’t take the .epub file off of Smashwords because I need it for other vendors.  What do I do?

Okay, so now you’ve decided to use both vendors – Smashwords and PubIt!.  Good for you.  But wait a second here, if you’re like me and chose the premium catalogue (where Smashwords sends it out to different vendors), you’ll see something.  Double copies of your book.  One with Smashwords as the publisher and one with you as the publisher.  One is sold via your PubIt! account and one is sold via Smashwords. 

It looks weird and personally, unprofessional.  I panicked when I saw my book twice like that.

There’s an easy cure for this.

In your dashboard on Smashwords, on the left, there’s a link to manage your distribution.  When you click it and scroll down, it has each of your books listed.  And then it gives you the option to opt in and out of vendors!

Now come on, how cool is that?  I tip my hat to Smashwords each time I find something like this out about them. 

In my mind, there should be four main accounts in progress for all your books:  (1) KDP – Amazon Kindle (2) PubIt! – B&N Nook (3) Smashwords – all other ereading devices and (4) Some account for paperback…

In recent news with Apple and their dealings, perhaps a 5th note should be there for the iBookstore.  But again, Smashwords handles this distribution, once you get picked up for the premium distribution.  I haven’t looked too far into the iBookstore… don’t have much time right now. 

The side information on your Smashwords account is VERY handy.  You’re able to check your dist. and when it’s going to happen, etc.  I know Smashwords site can be a pain in the neck sometimes, but if you take your time and follow the process, it’s a great site.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in PubIt!, Selling Books, Smashwords and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smashwords vs PubIt! – what one to use?

  1. Cathleena Beams says:

    I believe that if you use Smashwords, you are not supposed to publish those works with other publishers. I’m sure I read that somewhere in the terms when I was viewing them recently.

    • Jim Bronyaur says:

      Cathleena, thanks for your comment! When you use Smashwords, you choose if you want them to distribute the book or not. On the sidebar there is a distribution link… when you click it and scroll down you’ll find the option to opt in or out of the vendors Smashwords works with. You as the author are in complete control of it – which is really cool.

      Personally, I publish through PubIt! … so when I publish a book on Smashwords, I’ll opt out of B&N distribution.

Leave a Reply

