The business of writing.

This coming week I have a guest post going live on a writing web site.  I was left with a decision… what to write about?  I’ve been asking for guest spots, etc. but to fill those, I need material.

When I think of writing, I think of sitting at a desk creating a world.  That’s the easy part.  In this new climate of writing and the chances at our fingertips, there’s much more to be done.

I’ve been publishing since April and this past week I had to breakdown and buy QuickBooks Pro 2011 to help me manage everything.  I’ve been working with QB for almost ten years and it’s a great program.

Behind the pages and the words there’s a business to be run.  We have to track our sales per unit, our costs per unit, our oustide costs for the business, and we have to track our finances.  Certain vendors pay at certain times – i.e. Amazon pays 60 days – and we have to be able to manage that revenue when it comes in.  Selling 100 books in one month is great, but are you managed to NOT be able to use that money until you get it two months later?

It’s tough, but that’s what business is.

QB lets me track sales and figures, etc. and give me a greater picture of where I’m at.  I’m able to put my books in as different units… I record the books as (1) ebooks on Amazon (2) ebooks on PubIt! (3) ebooks on Smashwords (4) paperbacks on Amazon (5) paperbacks in person.  I’m able to match costs up to each one to actually see if and when I’m breaking even and making a profit on my books.

Writing is just the beginning… and that’s why some authors prefer the traditional route.  And some always will.  Big publishers aren’t going to fade away, they’ll just adapt.  The time to adapting may be a battle, but that’s fine.  For me, I have two dreams in life… the write and to own my own business.

Right now, I get both.  And I’m giving them up.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Business, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The business of writing.

  1. I share your dream Jim, on both accounts. And I am attempting to realize this dual dream currently. I wish you the best of luck!

  2. Pingback: Week Links | Journeys in Steam

Leave a Reply

