Facebook in on the fun?

Heard on the news this morning about a rumor that Facebook had bought an ebook company…

I ran to the computer, Googled it, and found an article from NY Times talking about it.

So far, it doesn’t seem that Facebook actually bought the company, but is working with them. 

The company is Push Pop Press, a company that makes interactive books.  Yeah, interactive books.  This may be the next step in ebooks.

Things happen on the pages as you read them, etc.

Now, I’ll be up front… I hate the idea of interactive books.  I don’t want to have something move, talk to me, etc. while I’m reading.  For me, reading is my time to let my mind create the images the author is creating. 

I do support certain parts of the technology.  I personally think it would be cool to open your Kindle, bring up a new book, and the first thing that happens is the book trailer plays.  To get you really pumped for the book.  And then at the end, be able to upload your future or previous book trailers into the ebook.

Now, perhaps the interactive book feature will be good for children – and for those who aren’t fans of reading.  In that light, I’ll become a fan of it.  Anything to get books into people’s hands, I’m okay with.

But back to Facebook here.

Facebook is changing their image.  They don’t want to be a social networking site and/or company.  The want to be an entertainment company.  Think about their game apps… think about their deals to show movies, etc.

They are expanding and with the mind of Zuckerberg, the sky is really the limit here.

There was a VERY COOL note in the article that caught my eye.  Think about Facebook – they track us.  You, me, everyone.  How do they track us?  By our updates.  Our likes.  Our dislikes.  They can anaylze millions of status updates and compare it to age, gender, etc. and find out what people want.

This is cool stuff… much like Amazon and how they can make a book a bestseller.

So… Facebook as an ebook publisher?  Yeah, I’m okay with that.  I hope they are willing to allow regular, standard books into the mix too.  When you’re reading The Devil’s Weekend, I don’t need The Devil to pop up in a page to scare you, I hope my writing scares you…

But then again, let’s forget that Facebook has 700 million users.  That’s a hell of an audience to be putting your book in front of. 

Ultimately, this just shows the new power of ebooks.  They are forever and they don’t take up space.  So, if you’re still reading blog after blog and debating on whether you should jump in the fire… come on now, jump.  This is a time I never thought I’d see.  And I’m sure glad to be in the mix of it.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

