Who the hell is this guy?

Who am I and why am I here?

There are hundreds of writing blogs out there.  No, scratch that, probably thousands by now.  So what’s one more, right?

For me?  This isn’t so much about trying to lure you to this blog to read and then eventually buy my books (which would be really cool) but rather it’s about sharing my journey with you and myself. 

Sometimes it’s easy to get lost in the thing of life – we’re so busy, always working, always writing, always trying to find the next big project.  But once in a while it’s good to step back and realize everything you’ve done already.

So again, who am I?

I’m Jim.  I write horror and thriller books.  I’ve had over forty short stories published, and some books published too.  I’ve been rejected thousands of times, but I never let it get to me.  I’ve done smart things and I’ve done dumb things.  I’ve paid someone to read my submission and have them reject me so I lost pride and money.  I’ve come oh, so close to getting an agent once or twice with no extra step.  I’ve spoken with dozens of small press publishers but never felt comfortable enough to sign a contract.

So now, I do it on my own.

I wasted – and yes, wasted – three years of my life in college obtaining a degree in both accounting and finance.  Good news is that I can use that now as I run two publishing imprints.  One is a super small one for my books.  But the other one, the new one, is pretty cool.  It’s a real company with real books coming soon.

So what’s my point of being here?

I want to find, study, learn, and share anything I can with you.  I want to talk publishing in all aspects.  I want to interview authors who are taking the giant risks on their own.  And I want to talk to and about publishers.  I want to share my sales and go through the structure of business… because one thing we have to remember is that revenue is NOT profit.  I want to analyze costs and how they eat revenues like vultures on a corpse. 

I have a really cool web site parked at www.JimBronyaur.com.  But I don’t feel that it allows me to blog free enough, so here I am.  I can’t say what my posting schedule will be – in a perfect world, I see a post a day.  But in my world, with ten projects on my plate at once, who knows what will happen.  But I tell you this – if I have something to say, I’ll say it.

Why?

Because I’ve been there.  And I’ve done a lot of it.  I’ve won awards, I’ve been paid for my writing.  I’ve wasted money on advertising and on products that I did not need to buy.  I’ve been scammed – yes, scammed – by those who call themselves “publishers” and I’ve worked with some really great people who deserve more notice then they get.

And I plan on sharing it all.

I hope you take the time to sign up on the right… and I really hope you join in on all the posts.  I love a good conversation, no matter how heated it gets.

I’m also active 24/7 on Twitter www.twitter.com/jimbronyaur

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who the hell is this guy?

  1. Sounds like we have a fair amount in common … I mean about trying to navigate the indie pub world … and I’ve been paid for writing too … not books, however, those I seem destined to write for free. Anyway, surf by my blog if you have a moment:

    http://essenceofperformance.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

