The mystery of suspense

I think they work together…

Suspense and mystery.

We try to find out who did what to whom and why, but within that, we need a swirl of possibilities and events to make that final scene all come together.

Building suspense can be fun, but also a pain in the you-know-what.

In the first Minivan Mom Mystery book, I had a few key scenes in mind from the second I sat down at the keyboard.  I had this idea for a black car to play throughout the book.  It was actually easy to write the suspense scenes because in the first book, Eve’s life was in danger.  I entered her into the story more directly than she is in the second book.  In the second book I feared falling into a trap where it’s like reading the same book but with a different scenario.  They key of course is the murder… someone dies in the second book.  Unlike the first one, Eve doesn’t know the person murdered, but something about the scene just bothers her.  She can’t get it out of her mind… and it’s not just because the murder happened on her street.

From there, I found myself thinking of what makes up suspense.  It’s those little moments in the story that could go either way.  The moments where Eve is questioning something and you, as the reader, are right along side with her, questioning it too.

The second book was not as easy to write as the first because I kept going back to the first book to see what I did and when I did it because I refuse to have the Minivan Mom Mystery Series become the same story regurgitated.  I want what the readers want… the same character (Eve Bailey) in a new story.

The good part here is that I think the second book a few extra twists and turns and a few more suspenseful yet subtle scenes that will keep you clicking and reading.

But think about it… the mystery of suspense.  They work together, they work separate, but sometimes, they can be very tricky to handle.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in JB's books, Jim b, Selling Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

