My first day with Select, and Free

Well now, it’s been a fun ride in the past 24 hours.

I put If Errands Could Kill as a free book yesterday and the response was amazing.  I saw four digit downloads, was in the Top 5 in Women’s Sleuths and came oh-so darn close to breaking the Top 100 in the Kindle Store.

I’m waiting right now for all the rankings, etc. to reset themselves and see what happens with the sales of the book, but either way, I feel it was a success for a couple reasons…

First off, this is a series.  I’m fine right now with the free books being downloaded because if I’ve done my job, those readers will hopefully be back for the second book (which is due for April!).

So I have quite a bit of people hopefully reading and enjoying Eve Bailey.  In the back of the book, I have an email address I made JUST for my mystery books for my readers to keep in touch with me.

The next reason I feel this was a success is because I still have 4 more free days to use.  I’m still reading and figuring out the best strategy with Select, but I know that I have a little freedom with my days for when the second book comes out.

And for the record, behind the second book comes the third book… and even a fourth one.  I’m not just looking at this series as a “new thing that’s out” but rather “a growing series that you all need to read and get hooked on”.

I’ll report some more figures come Monday morning to see how the post-free sales go.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Amazon, Business, Jim b, Selling Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

