NaNoWriMo…

…I keep looking at the calendar, realizing how close we are to NaNo starting.  This year for me NaNo means something different.  NaNo was created to show that you can write 50,000 words in a month.  And let’s be honest, when you take it to basics, it’s not that hard.  It’s only 1,667 words a day for a month.  If you’ve done your homework and have your story locked and loaded, then producing those words should be easy.  The hardest part of NaNo is the time factor, which again, you can control.

There are many ways to find those little extra pieces of time.  I have a post coming in early November on the Write Anything site talking about time and NaNo.

For me, NaNo is my chance to settle into a horror novel I’ve been thinking about for a year.  That’s right, a year.  I write 5,000 words a day right now because (1) I can and (2) I have to, so the word count won’t be that big of a deal for me.  The big deal with NaNo for me is that story itself.  I have the premise that I feel is beyond genius.  It’s terrifying actually… but now I’m in the process of finding a way to fill in all the “Hows” and “Whys” of the book because I know that with the slip of my fingers, this book can fall into a the dreaded category of cliche.  I need to do someting original to match the original idea…

There’s a little preview of what I’m writing for NaNo in the back of A Seed of Life … I wanted something different, dark, with a touch of gore.  When I think of saying the change from zombies to the actual disease or infection that causes people to act different, it always comes down to hurting each other.  Which makes sense, it’s the general flow of our mind… but I have a question, what if you hurt yourself?  Sure, that concept has been explored, but I wanted something more different, something newer… so for NaNo, I’ll be writing a novel called… ITCH.  Imagine having a itch that doesn’t go away… you scratch, scratch, scratch… through skin, muscle, to the bone, but the itch won’t go away…

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo…

  1. KjM says:

    Yes, I keep looking at the calendar, with some trepidation. Just over four freaking days left!!?? Yike.

    I have more to do on sketching out plot points, markers it would be good to hit. And I’m intent on better time management this year. We’ll see how that goes.

    Best of luck with your novel.

Leave a Reply

