It’s NaNo time… almost.

Thinking NaNoWriMo…

 

Are you doing it this year?  If so, why?  If not, why?

 

Those are fair questions.  The thought of writing 50,000 words a day may seem wild and crazy, but it’s not that bad.  The hard part for NaNo is the forcing feeling that we get, knowing the clock is ticking, working against us as time always does.

 

But that’s easy to conquer. 

 

Come into NaNo with a plan.  Don’t fly by the seat of your pants… have the story, the title, an idea for the cover and concept.  Hell, bring notes and an outline.  Yes, here I am, the outline guy now.  But let me just say this… last week, I made a goal for myself to write 30,000 in a week.  That’s a crazy goal, but I did it. 

 

How?

 

I had outlines with me.  I made detailed outlines and was able to switch back and forth and just write, moving the story forward.  I also was able to bounce around the book without compromising the story, which is huge for me. 

 

Approach NaNo the same way.  Don’t fear it, but embrace it.  Some people go into to kick themselves a kick in the ass to write.  There’s nothing wrong with that.  There’s also people who feel that those 50,000 words may not matter… because how could you write so much so fast.  I laugh at that because if you come prepared, those words WILL count.

 

Smashwords this year has linked up with NaNo, which is cool.  I’m looking into it and if all goes to plan, I’ll link my book to their program.  You’ll be able to read mine and Jack Roth’s book as we write it.  It’ll unedited, possibly horrible, but it will be longer than 50,000 words.  That means if you want to read the ending, you’ll have to buy it! 

 

NaNo is fun, exciting, and it’s a great site to meet some new people.  Get involved with your groups and help each other out.  If you make the mark, good for you.  If you don’t, then keep writing.  And just because November 30 ends doesn’t mean your writing should either.  To hit that 30,000 goal, it’s only about 1,500 words a day.  Two years ago that seemed impossible to me.  Right now, my average word count per day is around 3,000.  Again, when people say how? I tell them that I have (1) outlines and (2) a long list of story ideas.  I have three notebooks full of ideas… from short to novels to series. 

 

I think it’s fun to go into NaNo as a small press author/publisher.  Right now, going in, I know what I write will end up for sale.  That’s exciting for me… and hell, it’s a motivator for sure.  I know that once NaNo is done – and the book is done – I’ll be able edit it, format it, and put it out there for sale.  And like I said, I’m not banking on the book being 50,000 words.  That’s a good start for myself and Jack Roth… I’m sure it’ll be longer by some.

 

So again, I’ll ask… who’s doing NaNo?  Why?  Who’s skipping it?  Why?

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s NaNo time… almost.

  1. jlwylie says:

    I’m skipping. I tried it last year… and Nov is just the worst possible month they can ever do it. I always have 400 million other things going. Last year taught me something else, and also my very first deadlines I had this summer. I despise working under a time pressure. It gives me nervous breakdowns and freaks me out so much I get less done than if I just…wrote. So I’ll do my own thing, and maybe even end up with a higher word count. However that’s just me… so good luck to all of you who ARE going to try! :)

  2. Paul D. Dail says:

    I actually wrote my first book in a month. Not NaNo, but rather because I told her I was 75% done with the first draft when I really only had about 75 pages done. Then she asked me when I could get her the first draft. Fortunately, back then, I had a month to do nothing but write (and I think I cranked out almost 100,000 words).

    I would love nothing more, but with a part-time job teaching and a 19 month old daughter, I don’t see it happening unless something else gives. In my case, that something else would have to be my blog (and taking the time to read and comment on other people’s blogs).

    What are your thoughts? Is it excusable to disappear off the face of the blogging world for a month to attempt this challenge?

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

  3. Paul D. Dail says:

    p.s.- The “her” I was referring to in my comments was my agent. Realized that I hadn’t been clear about that.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

  4. I wrote my book on how to write a book fast during Nano 2009. Write-a-Thon came out this year from writer’s digest books. This year I plan to do a novel.

  5. Arlee Bird says:

    I’m signed up again but it seems like I not doing it yet. I’ve really fallen behind. Too much going on so far this month. But I will vouch for the great experience it is having won the past two years.

    Lee
    A Faraway View

Leave a Reply

