My reason for outlining.

Up until last week, I hated outlines.  I never used them.  I never understood them.  And in their defense, I never tried to use them before.

I always felt writing should be organic, free flowing, let the story come to me as it may… yeah, well, that’s all fine in the sense of writing as an art.  In reality, every artist has a plan for their work.  They can “free hand” things for a while, but eventually, you need a plan.

 

When I’m writing a new song, I don’t just hit record and see what happens.  That would be scary.  And awful.  I record riffs and parts of songs and lyrics, yes, but when it comes time to sit down and record the actual song, I have a sheet in front of me with all the parts needed to be recorded.

 

And the same should be with my writing.  Maybe not for you, but right now, at the current state of my life, this is my shot.  I have blogged about my backlist, which I am working on.  But I refuse to stop producing fresh content. 

 

One of the many things I hear when I talk to other writers is how they get so far and then just stop.  They lose the story, their motivation, whatever.  And it happens to the best of us, all the time.  My plan of attack to this has been simple:  work on multiple projects.  When I get burned on out a story, I turn to editing.  When I get sick of editing, I turn to the story. 

 

But now I’m at the point where I have several projects just swelling in my head.  To the point that I wish I had eight clones of myself to work. So I’ve resorted to the outline.

 

Here’s why.

 

I hate losing ideas.  I hate losing parts, sections, everything.  Sure getting it on paper works, but I want it in the story.  I want to look and see the entire book I’m working on because I also like jumping around a little.  Sometimes it’s fun to write parts out of order a little… I’m not sure how many people sit down and write from page one until page END without moving around.  The downfall to moving around is that if you’re not organized, it gets messy.  (Trust me, I’m cleaning up a 90,000 word book I started last summer that is a mess…)

 

To do my outline, I first write it free hand on a piece of paper.  Then I open Excel and work from there.  Once it’s done, it’s notes and arrows galore.  I erase the margins, set it to print landscape, and voila, I’ve myself a nice cheat sheet for my project. 

 

I like this because when I jump from project to project, there’s no lag time.  There’s no reading previous sections to find out where I was – it’s simply open a new screen and start typing.

 

It’s been going smooth for me, so much so, that I regret not using outlines like this before.  Now I do not point out every single detail and scene, I just have the path the story should travel.  Each bullet has plenty of room to work within so that I can create the story.  Nothing’s worse than a robotic sounding and reading story. 

 

With that said, I have another outline to do…

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Jim b, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My reason for outlining.

  1. KjM says:

    “…no reading previous sections to find out where I was…”

    Ah, for that alone I might well consider outlining – of, at least, sketch the pattern of the story (I’ve used Mind Mapping tools a lot in my time to do such sketching.) Because, when I return to some project after a break, it does take some time to remember where everyone was left, and what’s up next.

    Like you, when I do such sketching, I don’t (can’t, in truth) cover every detail because I (feel the) need to leave room for surprises.

    Glad to read that this approach is working for you.

  2. deanna says:

    I always had points marked off my stories in jr. high for not providing an “outline” ugh.
    Thanks for playing Red’s Trick or Treat Bash! RedTash.com, Red sent me! xoxoxo

  3. Na S. says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I actually really like outlines and I use them as a guide for most of my writing work. It gives me direction and keeps me on track but nothing on it is set in stone and I deviate when needed. I do think writing should be free-flowing and an outline is just one thing that disciplines my writing.

    Have a great day.
    Red sent me. http://redtash.com/

Leave a Reply

