Meet author C.A. Deyton!

Today I am pleased to welcome writer C.A. Deyton who is here to talk about her new novel, The Devil’s Keep. (What is it about The Devil do we horror/thriller writers like so much???)

Now before I get into the interview here, I want to let you know C.A. Deyton has come with a prize… she’s brought a chance for you to win a bracelet from The Sugar Plum Boutique and a free digital download. How do you enter? Well, you must first write your name on a piece of paper. List your greatest fears. Include $3 in postage and send it to… heh, just kidding. All you have to do is leave a comment on this post to gain an entry. She’ll announce the winner on Friday.

Cool stuff, right?

Now, for even cooler stuff… let’s meet and hang with C.A. Deyton:


The Devil’s Keep… I like that title, where did it come from?

I wish I had an exciting story to tell you, but I don’t. I went through at least 4 different titles. I wanted something that described the state of my female protagonist, Sara. I would pick a title, be excited for a few days and then just not feel right about it. I got to thinking about the role of the demon in my book and realized my pitch was coming from the wrong direction. Ultimately, these characters live because this devil is playing a game. After coming up with the title, I was excited about it for a couple of days, then a couple of more, and a couple more. I never grew tired of it and that’s how I realized I had a winner.

How long did it take you to write the book?

2 years–off and on. I had these large periods of writer’s block. Then a super productive period of time. It was definitely a labor of love!

Where did the idea of the book come from?

To be honest, I have always loved vampires and paranormal romances. I was batting around the idea of the ultimate forbidden love and focused on a vampire/angel match. Then I started thinking about how their paths would cross and how they would deal with their emotions. Of course, I knew I ultimately wanted my vampire to be with a human, but loved the idea of torturing him for a few dozen years. I can be a bit mean.

I saw your site, you have a sequel planned to The Devil’s Keep… can you dish any details? (How about a release date?)

In the sequel, we will see Sara and Michael preparing for her transformation into vampire. But their plans will be thwarted when the head vampire leader vanishes and Michael is summoned to track his whereabouts. In the meantime, someone is designing an army, leaving all of the various clans, and Sara, in danger.

Release date? Sometime in 2012.

If I was a first time writer, what’s the one piece of advice you’d give me?

I have a little note I keep by my desk that says, “Keep writing. Keep submitting. Rejections mean nothing.” I cannot remember where I copied it from, but it is my mantra. Also, read, read, read. It really does make you a better writer.

Do you like Guns n’ Roses?

uh, yeah! I am a child of the 80’s! Appetite for Destruction–“Sweet Child O’Mine” is my favorite. Better yet, do you like Guns n’ Roses, Jim? (Note from Jim… Guns n’ Roses is the greatest band to ever exist. And one day, after selling a few million books, I plan on calling the guys up, helping them patch things up, and then head out on the greatest reunion tour in the history of music… with me as a third guitar player of course… so, to answer the question – Do I like Gn’R? Heh, just a little…)

So what’s next… besides Book Two… what’s your 2012-2013 look like?

I have outlines for three other works in progress. Two are psychological thriller types, and one is a nonfiction book about Sensory Integration Disorder, a condition which affects my son.


Now that’s what I call busy, right? A horror novel, with a sequel coming. Some psycho thriller types, and a nonfic book.

Don’t forget to leave a comment here to be entered into C.A. Deyton’s contest. And now… for some links…

My website: http://www.cadeyton.com
Facebook Page: http://www.amazon.com/The-Devils-Keep-ebook/dp/B005FCFHU6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1312252681&sr=8-1
Amazon Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/The-Devils-Keep-ebook/dp/B005FCFHU6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1312252681&sr=8-1   
Smashwords buy link: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/77843https://www.facebook.com/pages/CA-Deyton/234510419912137

I thank C.A. Deyton for stopping my today and I thank you for reading… The Devil’s Keep looks to be a great read – and if you haven’t yet, read the first chapter on her site… trust me, it’ll suck you in.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Authors, Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet author C.A. Deyton!

  1. Pingback: Interview and Giveaway « C.A. Deyton

  2. Jean B. Robertson says:

    Well, I do hate to disagree with you Jim but the greatest band ever is Eagles … Yes, I’m of THAT generation. I’m looking forward to C.A.’s book and your interview just makes the anticipation greater.

    • Jim Bronyaur says:

      Haha Jean! Too funny… and yes, there’s nothing wrong with the Eagles.

      I appreciate you stopping by the site today… I hope to hear from C.A. that you picked up a copy of her book. Looks great for sure! :)

      -jb

  3. Red Tash says:

    Congrats, CA! That is fabulous! I didn’t realize it was a vampire book…will have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

