Guest Post on #AmWriting

Today I have the joy of stopping by a very popular and useful writing site called Am Writing.

The site gained popularity first from the Twitter hashtag #AmWriting.  For those who don’t know what a hashtag is, it’s a way to follow something on Twitter… you just put the # before a word.  This will bring up a thread of all Twitter users using the tag.  It’s a great way to meet new followers too!  (But that’s in a later blog post.)

I talked about the indie life over on AmWriting.  How choosing indie over traditional isn’t easy… and that indie itself isn’t easy at all.

Here’s an excerpt…

“I soon realized that I had the business education and skill – and dream – to run a company.  I’ve always wanted my own business.  I used to buy books on how to sell things on ebay, how to open a coffee house, and even thought about flipping houses.  My fire inside was to own a company.  Be my own boss.  Enjoy life.  Well once writing mixed with that urge, and finding some really great resources such as KindleBoards, it became clear that I was holding a business all along… the business of ME.  Of Jim Bronyaur.  Of writing and selling books.

I started an imprint called Dead Face Publishing and my journey began.

But like I said, it’s not easy.  There are many articles about how independent authors who couldn’t get agents are making millions… I shake my head at it.  Those authors aren’t just people who decided one day to write a book and get lucky.  They are authors who have been writing their entire lives that found a new path to chase their dream.  Many of those authors have huge backlists of books written, ready to go.  And that’s their key to success.  They were and are able to produce quality work time and time again.  Being an independent (or self published) author means you are quite literally running a business.

This is a normal day for me…”

I hope you all take the time to head over to the full post and read it.  The site too is full of amazing information and the hashtag on Twitter is always active.

http://amwriting.org/archives/6230

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in Guest Posts / Interviews (Jim), Jim b and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

