Goodbye July!

I still need to talk about my first quarter of sales more and more, I understand that… however, I have finally ordered Quickbooks software to help me with all my projects.  When I get the software installed and all my data plugged in, I’ll be posting financials, charts, statements, and all kinds of fun stuff.

Those who have read my blog posts before know I write about what I’ve done wrong and what I’ve done right.  I believe it’s healthy to see both sides of story and find a happy medium.

July is officially OVER.  I can’t complain though a lot are.  The dead of summer.  Heat waves.  Kids’ aren’t in school.  And Amazon tosses in a little summer sale thing… but for me?  Well, while my sales aren’t going to break the bank (as you’ll see), I had a good month.  An increase over last month.

Why?

My guess is that now In the Corner is finally starting to be picked up on Amazon’s mysterious algorithms.  I’m being linked up, and I’m happy. 

But now, for numbers.

I can happily report that I have four titles available and all four titles did sell last month!

  • KDP: 9
  • PubIt!: 2
  • Smashwords: 1
  • Amazon Paperback: 4
  • Direct Paperback: 8
  • Total:  24

Now look at that.  24 books for the month.  As I said, I’m not breaking the bank, but I feel confident there because I’m getting to the point of almost hitting a book a day.  And mind you, I just released an actual novel on July 27th. 

As a recap of my releases, for those who don’t know…

So, what are my thoughts on hopes from here on out?

First off, it’s still summer.  August will see parents busy, getting ready for school.  August will see more hot weather.  August will see… more books being written, uploaded, and sold.  I’m excited to be in my first FULL month of selling The Devil’s Weekend.  I’ve got some interviews lined up, some advertising, and more releases coming this month.

From those who are more experienced at this have said summer is slow so take advantage and get writing done.  I nod and agree.

I’m amazed that my paperback sales are still out doing my ebook sales.  And while some of those paperback sales are family, I’ve had people request signed copies from me. 

SO now, my questions:

What did I do wrong?  For July… I can’t pick much out.  Maybe I should have had In the Corner to more review sites or given copies away, I don’t know.  I was too focused on The Devil’s Weekend.

What did I do right?  I picked a date for The Devil’s Weekend and stuck with it.  Now it’s out and ready for the world to enjoy.

SO, here’s to a happy August.

About Jim Bronyaur

Jim Bronyaur writes mystery, thriller, and horror books. Grab a book at www.JimBronyaur.com Tweet him @JimBronyaur And for those who have Kindles and Prime, you may be able to get some of Jim's books for FREE!
This entry was posted in JB's books, Monthly report and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

